Getting started with wargame creation

Virtual tabletop software specifically designed for boardgames, wargames, card games and dice games
KeithS
Soldier

Getting started with wargame creation

Post by KeithS » Tue Oct 14, 2014 3:13 pm

Hello, although I have had BGE for a little while I am just getting started on setting up some wargames using the program. I have two projects in mind:
  1. Lost Battles http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/83325/lost-battles
    This is more of a port of an existing game that I posses but should be well suited to running in the BGE environment. Since this is a commercial game (albeit out of print/stock from the suppliers) my intention is to set it up purely for my own use.
  2. Snappy Nappy http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/43792/snappy-nappy
    Since this is basically a set of rules for corps level Napoleonic wargaming I will need to create most of the components myself in order to create a game.
I am just getting started and have learned quite a bit by getting in and trying things out, as well as several readings of the manual, but I already have some questions about the process, I'm sure that there will be more:
  1. From what I can gather when setting up a BGE game it is usual to take a copy of the entire BGE directory for each game, is this correct? If so are there any parts that can be excluded so as to not duplicate files, is it possible to run from one executable and just duplicate necessary copies of the relevant directories? If not fine, but it would be helpful to know.