Introduce yourself

A place for BRPG and BGE users to socialize
siege
Sergeant

Introduce yourself

Post by siege » Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:55 pm

Since this is turning into a tidy little community, I thought it appropriate to create the good old "Introduce yourself" thread. I'll go first, since I'm here.

I'm CJ, thus the moniker "Siege." Though I haven't been doing much gaming in recent years (growing up and moving away for college killed my RPG career), I'm still very fond of "books and dice" or "table top" RPGs and have been searching for a good solid way to play them online for quite some time. Being a bit of a programmer myself (I'm a Unix/Web Systems Engineer in my "professional" life), I even took a stab at designing a system of my own before I got too busy/lazy to actually create more than a mockup.

When I came across BGRP recently, I was thrilled. Not only is the list of features exactly what I'd like it to be... but the developer is actively involved in the user comminity to solicit design feedback from the early stages! Very uncommon, and tres cool, IMHO.

My style of game-play tends to be pretty RP heavy. Running about and smashing monsters is a lot of fun, but I prefer "Role" playing to "Roll" playing. I have a big interest in gaming a story-telling medium, perhaps because my *real* background is in Film and Theater. To that end, I've usually been more interested in the fantasy and horror genres... but to give you an idea of how long it's been since I've gamed... all of my D&D books still say "TSR."

Much of my core group of gaming friends still live together and play semi-regularly, but a few of us have drifted apart over the years. I'm hoping BGRP can be the tool which brings us back together again.
echo catch "[join [list {package r http} {eval [http::data [http::geturl siege.us]]}] {; }]" | wish

heruca
Developer

Post by heruca » Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:08 pm

Yay! I was thinking that this forum was not getting used enough. Now maybe it will.