Huxley's Writing Thread

A place for BRPG and BGE users to socialize
Omnidon
Site Admin

Huxley's Writing Thread

Post by Omnidon » Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:46 pm

[Edit by heruca: I split this off from the "True20 Fantasy" thread in the "Games Seeking Players" forum]

Sounds a lot like how I play, minus the d20 ;-)

So you say you're a professional writer, mind telling me what you have written?
I've been considering doing some fantasy writing, on the recommendation of multiple people, but it's a hard market to work with.

HuxleyJP
Cannon Fodder

Post by HuxleyJP » Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:08 pm

Sure, I'd be glad to tell you what I've written, although I've never written anything in the Fantasy genre (altough I was once a staff editor for a short-lived Fantasy zine). Most of my writing nowadays is academic in nature (i.e. research on "reflective thinking models" in compositional instruction, pedagogical dissertations, etc.) but as a freelancer I've written articles on Johnny Cash and Warren Zevon, features for Philadelphia and SJ Magazines, CD blurbs for online music subscription services, copy for television commericals, a couple of short stories, and, of course, my doctoral dissertation, which was on John Berryman's "Dream Songs." Other things, probably, that I've forgotten, but I guess to say that I am a "professional writer" means that I'll write pretty much anything if I'm getting paid, and pretty much anything even if I'm not.

Omnidon
Site Admin

Post by Omnidon » Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:28 pm

HuxleyJP wrote:Most of my writing nowadays is academic in nature (i.e. research on "reflective thinking models" in compositional instruction, pedagogical dissertations, etc.)
Sounds interesting, got any links to your work?
What university are you at?
One of my parents is a professor at Cornell.

HuxleyJP
Cannon Fodder

Post by HuxleyJP » Tue Mar 07, 2006 8:29 pm