Page 1 of 1

Suggestion - Snap To Grid in map only

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:05 pm
by Motdc
So I've been back to working on my HQ setup with BRPG. The board/map has a built in grid so I enforced the snap to grid. Great, works like a charm.

Now I'm setting up an off map area for dice rolling, for the character sheets, for the treasure deck, the spell decks, the bestiary. And the snap to grid in these off screen areas is a pain in the butt.

My feature suggestion is to have an option to snap to grid only on the map, while the off map areas are free-drag.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:16 pm
by heruca
Are you aware of the [X] hotkey that toggles the Snap-to-Grid feature on and off?

Do you ever need to move units from the map area to the off-map area, or vice versa?

I've been considering adding a Snap-to-Grid setting to units, and the options could be "Never", "Always", and "Only in Map Area".

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:36 pm
by Motdc
Not really fluent with the hotkeys yet. The X will certainly help me, thanks for that.

I would be dragging units off the map area to the side if I expect to need it again very soon. Positioning would only really matter within the map area in theis case.

I do like the per-unit settings, that would be something I would use.

Thanks!

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:49 pm
by Zearthling
I have been having difficulty mapping the hot-keys to my memory also. To bad we can't user define them... :idea:

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:15 pm
by heruca
You only need to memorize one hotkey to use BRPG: the [?] hotkey. It brings up the Help screen, which tells you what all the hotkeys are. :P

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 3:27 am
by Omnidon
Zearthling wrote:To bad we can't user define them... :idea:
Get in line! ;-)

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:44 pm
by Motdc
heruca wrote:Are you aware of the [X] hotkey that toggles the Snap-to-Grid feature on and off?
Doesn't seem to work...

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:02 pm
by Motdc
:oops: Sorry, I had the snap locked on!