Page 1 of 1

Unit/Object names getting changed.

Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2014 5:48 pm
by Mark Skarr
I don’t know if this is a bug per se, but if it isn't it seems highly counter-intuitive.

When I add an object, I try to give it a unique name. That way, in the Unit Manager, I can find it easily (for moving to/from sideboard or hidden status). However, the when I convert an object into a tile it gets its unique name removed the moment the Unit Manager is closed, the name defaults to the original, non-unique name. To make matters worse, the program now assumes the first instance of that object I placed is every instance of that object.

Please see attached screens. Sorry for the large size, but I wanted to ensure you could see the situation clearly (5 steps was the minimum I could do it in).

I'm running BRPG 1.8c. I have an i7-4770 with 12gb RAM running Win7/64.

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:02 pm
by Omnidon
Looks like a bug to me.

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:06 pm
by heruca
Yes, but I don't think the Unit Manager is renaming anything. I think the renaming happens when you close the unit editor. Will look into it. In the meantime, Consider names like "Secret Door A", "Secret Door B", etc., to keep them distinct.

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:18 pm
by Mark Skarr
I tried naming just one "Secret Doorway" and when I closed and re-opened the UM, it was "10' Door Gap 1" again.

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:36 pm
by heruca
Ah, perhaps the bug is only affecting units from artpacks, as opposed to stand-alone PNGs.