Copy/Pasted units don't retain Hidden status

Help improve BRPG and BGE by reporting any bugs you encounter.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kazander
General
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:51 pm

Copy/Pasted units don't retain Hidden status

Post by Kazander » Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:06 pm

Title pretty much says it all. Hidden units become Visible if you copy and paste them.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9380
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:39 am

If this is happening while hosting, it's a bug.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
Kazander
General
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:51 pm

Post by Kazander » Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:54 am

Hmmm. Interesting. Actually, it only happens when the GM is not hosting. When hosting, the Hidden status is retained. I was just setting up an encounter prior to gaming last night when I encountered this behavior.

I would consider it a bug, either way; why would the behavior be different when hosting vs not?

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9380
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:39 pm

Kazander wrote:I would consider it a bug, either way; why would the behavior be different when hosting vs not?
Because when you're not hosting, no one is watching, so you're free to more accurately position pasted units before hiding them. Some graphics are tough to place properly when hidden, especially graphics that are already semi-transparent.

If you want, I can change the default behavior so that when pasting a unit, it will retain its hidden or shown status, regardless of whether you are hosting a game or not.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
Kazander
General
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:51 pm

Post by Kazander » Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:38 pm

heruca wrote:If you want, I can change the default behavior so that when pasting a unit, it will retain its hidden or shown status, regardless of whether you are hosting a game or not.
I would prefer it that way, personally, but perhaps if a few more people posted their opinions it would add support one way or the other. Maybe post a poll if no one seems to be responding to this thread?

fb66
General
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 5:26 am
Location: south yorkshire,england,uk

Post by fb66 » Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:47 pm

personally i dont mind either way lol

User avatar
Dormouse
General
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:18 am

Post by Dormouse » Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:54 pm

I prefer current behaviour as default; maybe there should be an option to have it either way.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9380
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:42 pm

In the third Preferences screen, there's already an option called "Auto-hide new units". Perhaps I could just use that same setting to control the copy/paste behavior, too (by considering pasted units to be new units).
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
rrvistas
General
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: AUSTRIA

Post by rrvistas » Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:35 am

heruca wrote:In the third Preferences screen, there's already an option called "Auto-hide new units". Perhaps I could just use that same setting to control the copy/paste behavior, too (by considering pasted units to be new units).
That sounds like a good idea.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests