Dynamic Fog of War causes Script Error

Help improve BRPG and BGE by reporting any bugs you encounter.
Post Reply
Briggzee
Soldier
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:29 pm

Dynamic Fog of War causes Script Error

Post by Briggzee » Sat Sep 05, 2009 7:06 am

Version: GM Client 1.4i
Operating System: Windows XP (SP3)

When I enabled Dynamic Fog of War, I get an error "Script Error. Continue? Y/N"

Yes, results in the error appearing again.
No, Closes BRPG.

The only light sources in the Encounter I created were attached to Objects, which I had Right-clicked and set to 'Torch' from the Light Source list.

Please find attached a screenshot of the error, and the encounter file.
Attachments
Tomb-of-Terror.bge
(47.36 KiB) Downloaded 203 times
Fog-of-War script-Error.png
Fog-of-War script-Error.png (224.45 KiB) Viewed 4316 times

Monk
Soldier
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm

Post by Monk » Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:45 pm

I have a strong feeling, your error is related to mine, if not pointing to the same bug. It only happens when I mess around with the dynamic and manual functions, yet I think in your setup you have isolated it to the dynamic function.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9382
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:09 pm

I won't have a chance to look into this until Monday, or perhaps Sunday night.

Just wanted to respond so that you don't think I'm ignoring this thread.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Briggzee
Soldier
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:29 pm

Post by Briggzee » Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:50 pm

I did some more testing on this and found the following;

If I enabled Dynamic FoW, I get the Script Error.
After choosing 'Yes' to continue 16 times the error stopped, and Dynamic FoW was Selected.

Pressed the "Update Fog of War for Clients" and it started working.

I saved the Encounter and everytime I loaded it after that the error no longer appears.

===============
EDIT:

Spoke to soon.

After closing and re-opening BRPG, then loading the encounter, I simply got the error instantly. Another 16 clicks laterm and was able to turn it off and work with BRPG again.

I've since recreated the encounter and have not had the error reappear again yet.

Haladon1701
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:08 am

Post by Haladon1701 » Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:54 pm

I seem to be having the same issue - Mine reports it as a director player error. I thought it might have to do with the fact that I am running two seperate copies on the same machine (using the second copy on my projector) but now that is see others are struggling as well i wonder!

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9382
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:02 pm

What version of BRPG are you using? Have you edited your Light Source or Night Vision settings from the defaults? If you save the Encounter, relaunch BRPG, and re-load the Encounter, does the error go away?
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Haladon1701
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:08 am

Post by Haladon1701 » Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:22 pm

I am using version 1.4i. I tried saving and reloading the encounter but it doesn't seem to help. This occurs on both my Windows 7 PC and my Windows Vista PC.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest